How to Close Your Account on Etsy

Etsy allows sellers and buyers to close their accounts and reopen them in the future. There is also an option to delete accounts permanently, where the account can’t be reinstated.

This guide shows you how to close your Etsy account temporarily or permanently.

Things to know before temporarily closing your account

  • You can reopen your account later. Your data, including email address, username, shop name, and other account settings remain saved on Etsy’s servers.
  • Your profile will be removed from the site and won’t appear on Etsy.
  • Your account will be marked as inactive.

How to temporarily close your account on Etsy

  1. Sign in to Etsy.com and click on You on the top right-hand side.

    You on Etsy homepage
    Click You located on the top right
  2. Click Account settings from the dropdown.

    Account Settings on Etsy homepage
    Click Account settings
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and go to the Close your account section.

    Close Your Account section
    Scroll down to the Close your account section
  4. Select one of the reasons from the dropdown explaining why you’re closing your account.

    Reason for leaving Etsy
    Select one of the reasons from the dropdown
  5. Click the Close account button.

    Close account button
    Click Close account
  6. Enter your password to confirm you want to close your account.

Things to know before permanently closing your Etsy account

  • Permanently closing your Etsy account can’t be undone. It removes all your data from Etsy servers.
  • For sellers, ensure you have fulfilled all orders, resolved open cases, and saved accounting details for tax purposes.
  • For buyers, ensure all open cases are resolved.
  • The process can take around two weeks.

How to permanently close your account on Etsy

  1. Sign in to Etsy.com and click You between “Favorites” and “Cart.”

    You on Etsy homepage
    Click on your profile
  2. Click Account settings from the dropdown.

    Account Settings on Etsy homepage
    Click Account Settings
  3. Select the Privacy tab.

    Account settings page
    Select the Privacy tab on Account settings page
  4. Scroll down to Permanently close and delete your Etsy account section.

    Permanently close and delete your Etsy account section
    Permanently close and delete your Etsy account.
  5. Click the Request deletion of your data button to permanently close and delete your Etsy account.

    Request deletion of your data
    Click Request deletion of your data.
  6. You should receive a confirmation email to complete your deletion request.

Frequently asked questions

Why can’t I see the Close Account button?

If you don’t see the “Close Account” button, you either have an open case for your Etsy shop or a payable amount due on your statement. Once you resolve open cases or settle payments, you can close your account.

What to do if I see an error message when I click Close Account?

You’ll see an error message when you click “Close Account” if it’s been less than seven days since you changed your account email address:

You have changed your email recently and therefore cannot close your account.

Etsy will allow you to close your account after seven days to ensure it’s not compromised.

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment