How to Delete or Deactivate Your Facebook Account

If you’ve decided to quit Facebook for good or want to get off the radar for a while, you can delete or deactivate your account.

Here is what will happen if you delete your account:

  • Your data will get erased within 30 days.
  • You won’t be able to use Messenger.
  • Your account will stay invisible and off the radar.
  • If you don’t reactivate your account within the time limit, you will have to rebuild your profile from scratch.

Here is what will happen if you deactivate your account:

  • It will not delete your data.
  • You can still use Messenger.
  • There is no time limit on reactivating your account, so you can recover your account whenever you want.

How to deactivate or delete your Facebook account on iPhone or Android

Here is a quick tutorial on deactivating or deleting your Facebook account on iOS or Android.

Deactivate your account

  1. Open the Facebook mobile app and tap the three lines menu from the top right corner.

    Facebook mobile app menu
    Go to the menu at the top right corner.
  2. Tap the small gear icon at the top right side to go to Settings & privacy.

    Facebook settings
    Tap on the gear icon to go to Settings & privacy
  3. Now, under Account settings, select Personal and account information.

    Personal and account information in Settings & privacy
    Go to Personal and account information.
  4. Here, go to the fourth option, i.e., Account ownership and control.

    Account ownership and control settings
    Go to Account ownership and control settings.
  5. Now, tap on Deactivation and deletion.

    Facebook account Deactivation and deletion
    Tap on the Deactivation and deletion option
  6. Pick Deactivate account option and select Continue to Account Deactivation.

    Deactivate account option
    Select the Deactivate account option
  7. To ensure security, type in your Password and tap Continue.

    Enter Password prompt
    Enter your password to continue
  8. Now, choose a reason for Deactivating your Facebook account and then Continue.

    Reason for Deactivating your Facebook account
    From the list, select a reason for deactivating the account
  9. There will be a prompt asking you to Manage your notifications. Tap Continue.

    Manage your notifications option
    Tap on the Continue button
  10. If you are the admin of any groups or pages, transfer the role to someone else. Check the Keep using Messenger box to use your Messenger even after deactivating your account. Your friends can invite you to events or tag you in photos even after you deactivate your account – to avoid getting a notification for these activities, check the Opt out of receiving future notifications from Facebook. Then, tap on the Deactivate My Account button to confirm deactivation.

    Account deactivation process
    Tap Deactivate My Account
  11. That’s it! If you want to reactivate your account, sign in, and Facebook will reactivate your account instantly.

Delete your account

  1. Go to the Facebook menu (three lines) at the top right corner of your screen.

    Facebook mobile app menu
    Go to the menu at the top right corner.
  2. Tap on the gear symbol at the top right side, a shortcut to Settings & privacy.

    Facebook settings
    Tap on the gear icon to go to Settings & privacy
  3. Go to Personal and account information.

    Personal and account information in Settings & privacy
    Go to Personal and account information.
  4. Here, tap on Account ownership and control.

    Account ownership and control settings
    Go to Account ownership and control settings.
  5. From here, go to Deactivation and deletion.

    Facebook account Deactivation and deletion
    Tap on the Deactivation and deletion option
  6. From the two options, select the Delete account option.

    Delete account option
    Select the Delete account option
  7. Choose a reason for deleting your account, which will ask you to manage your notifications.

    Reason for deleting account
    Pick a reason, and Continue to account for deletion
  8. In this prompt, tap on the Continue to account deletion button.

    Manage your notifications prompt
    Select Continue to account deletion option
  9. Tap the Download Info button to get a file of your data, including videos, photos, and posts.

    Download Info option
    Tap on the Download Info button
  10. Select the Transfer Info option to copy your information to another place. Also, if you own any pages or groups, transfer the ownership to someone else.
  11. Finally, tap on the Delete Account button to continue.

    Account deletion process 2
    Tap on the Delete Account button
  12. Now, type your password and tap Continue to confirm deleting your account.

    Enter Password prompt
    Enter your password to continue
  13. All done! Your account will be automatically deleted within 30 days.

    Account scheduled for deletion
    Account scheduled for permanent deletion

How to deactivate or delete your Facebook account on a computer

Here is a detailed tutorial on deactivating or deleting your account on a computer browser.

Deactivate your account

  1. Go to Facebook and click on the menu in the top right corner. 
  2. From the drop-down list, go to Settings & privacy.

    Facebook Settings & privacy menu
    Go to Settings & privacy in the Facebook menu
  3. Next, click on Settings.

    Facebook Settings menu
    Click Settings from the drown-down list 
  4. From the left sidebar, click on Your Facebook information, and then Deactivation and deletion.

    Your Facebook Information settings
    Click on Your Facebook information and then go to Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Here, choose Deactivate account.

    Deactivate account option
    Select the Deactivate account option
  6. Choose a reason for deactivating your account.

    Reason for deactivating account
    From the list, select a valid reason for deactivating your account
  7. If you own any group or pages, make some else admin to keep them available. Your friends can still tag you and invite you to events. Check the Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook to avoid getting notifications of invites and tags from your friends.
  8. Now, click on the Deactivate button.

    Deactivate account confirmation
    Click Deactivate button at the bottom.
  9. For confirmation, click Deactivate now.

    Deactivate account confirmation 2
    Click Deactivate now for confirmation.
  10. Now you’re all set! If you change your mind and want to reactivate your account, sign in again.

    Account deactivated notification
    Account successfully deactivated

Delete your account

  1. Go to Facebook and click on the menu icon in the top right corner. 
  2. From the drop-down list, go to the Settings & privacy.

    Facebook Settings & privacy menu
    Go to Settings & privacy in the Facebook menu
  3. Now, go to Settings.

    Facebook Settings menu
    Click Settings from the drown-down list
  4. From the left side, click on Your Facebook information. Select Deactivation and deletion.

    Your Facebook Information settings
    Click on Your Facebook information and then go to Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Here, choose Delete account and click the Continue to account deletion button.

    Delete account option
    Select the Delete account option
  6. If you want to download your images, videos and posts, click Download info. You can also click on Transfer info to copy your data to another service. Transfer the ownership of your groups and pages to someone else, or they will get deleted.

    Permanently delete account preparation
    Download or transfer information
  7. Now, click on Delete account to continue.

    Delete account confirmation
    Click the Delete account button.
  8. Enter your password in the confirmation prompt and click Continue.

    Confirm your account box
    Enter your password and click Continue
  9. You will have to confirm account deletion again by clicking the Delete account button.

    Account deletion confirmation 2
    For confirmation, click Delete account.
  10. Your account will be deleted in 30 days. You must sign in within the 30-day window to reverse your account deletion.

    Account scheduled for permanent deletion
    Account scheduled for deletion notification

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment