How to Make Facebook Private

Tired of strangers stalking your profile? Want to keep your Facebook a place for only your friends and family? It’s time to make your Facebook profile private.

Here are the features that you can make private:

  • Personal information including education, email, job, address, age, marital status, etc.
  • Friend’s list
  • Posts or future posts
  • Who can send you a friend request
  • Who can find you using your email or phone number.

Make your Facebook private on mobile

  1. Open the Facebook app and click on the three lines menu.

    Facebook settings menu
    Go to the menu at the top right corner
  2. Tap on the gear icon to launch Settings.

    Facebook settings
    Go to Settings & privacy.
  3. Now, scroll down to Audience Visibility and go to Profile locking.
    Note: You can also search for it if you don’t find it here.

    Profile locking option
    Tap on the Profile locking option
  4. Here, tap the Lock your profile button to confirm.

    Lock your profile confirmation.
    Tap on the Lock your profile button
  5.  Now, tap OK to continue.

    Profile locked notif
    Tap on the OK button to continue
  6.  Now return to Settings & privacy (same steps as before), and go to How people can find and contact you.

    How people find and contact you settings
    Go to How people find and contact you settings.
  7. Open each setting and choose the privacy option you prefer (these include Everyone, Friends of friends, or Only me).
    How people find and contact you settings
    Edit each setting to make it private

    For example, in Who can send you friend requests?, you can select Friends of friends from the given options.

    Friend requests settings
    Choose Friends of friends from the options

Make your Facebook private on Computer

  1. Go to your Facebook account, and click on the top-right corner arrow to open the menu. Select Settings & privacy.

    Facebook Settings & privacy
    Click on Settings & privacy
  2. Now, go to Settings.

    Facebook settings
    Go to Settings
  3. In settings, select Privacy from the left panel.

    Manage your profile option
    Click on the Manage your profile option.
  4. Click on the three dots menu, then select Lock profile.

    Lock profile option
    Click on the Lock profile option.
  5. A confirmation prompt will pop up; click Lock Your Profile to confirm. Locking your profile will hide your personal information.

    Lock Your Profile confirmation
    Click on the Lock Your Profile button to confirm
  6. A notification indicating that your profile has been locked will appear. Click OK to continue.

    Profile locked notification
    Click OK to continue.
  7. For further privacy, go back to the Privacy settings and scroll down to Your Activity and How people find and contact you.
  8. Click Edit next to each setting and change it to either Only me or Friends of friends to make it as private as possible.

    Privacy settings
    Change the settings under Your Activity and How people find and contact you.

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment