How to Delete a Channel in Slack

Channels are one of the most valuable features of Slack. However, over time, you might find that your channels are getting cluttered with conversations on topics not related to your business.

Therefore there may come a time when you wish to delete a channel from your workspace. If you want to delete a channel, here’s how.

Things to know before deleting or archiving a channel in Slack

  1. Only workspace owners and admins can delete a channel.
  2. The #general channel cannot be deleted or archived.
  3. Archived channels are still searchable, and messages sent to this channel are visible.
  4. Slack will also delete any message sent to a channel you want to delete.
  5. Workspace members, not guests, can archive or unarchive a channel. However, the workspace owner can restrict this feature.
  6. It would be best to archive the Slack channel until you are sure you want to delete it since deleting it is irreversible.
  7. You can only unarchive or delete archived channels using a web browser or desktop version since the channel browser is not available on the mobile app.

How to delete an active Slack channel

On computer

  1. Go to Slack and launch your workspace. Click the channel you would like to delete from the channel directory on the left side. In the header section, click on the channel name.

    Select the channel you want to delete.
    Select the channel you want to delete.
  2. From the menu, select Settings.

    Hover over to channel settings.
    Hover over to channel settings.
  3. In “Settings,” select Delete this channel.

    Select the option of deleting the channel.
    Select the option of deleting the channel.
  4. Confirm deleting the channel by checking the box next to “Yes, permanently delete the channel.”
  5. After that, click Delete Channel.

    Confirm you want to delete the channel.
    Confirm you want to delete the channel.

On iPhone or Android

  1. Launch your workspace and tap the channel you would like to delete from the channel directory.

    Select the channel you want to delete.
    Select the channel you want to delete.
  2. In the header, click on the channel name.

    Open the channel details.
    Open the channel details.
  3. Scroll down and tap the Leave channel.

    Leave the channel.
    Leave the channel.

How to archive a Slack channel

On computer

  1. Launch your workspace and choose the channel you would like to archive from the channel directory on the left side.
  2. Click on the channel name to get more details about the channel.

    Select the channel you want to archive.
    Select the channel you want to archive.
  3. In the menu, click Settings.

    Hover over to the settings menu.
    Hover over to the settings menu.
  4. Scroll down and select Archive Channel for everyone.

    Choose to archive the channel for everyone.
    Choose to archive the channel for everyone.
  5. Select Archive Channel to confirm and complete archiving the channel.

    Confirm you want to archive the channel.
    Confirm you want to archive the channel.

On iPhone

  1. Open the Slack app and launch your workspace. Select the channel you want to archive from the directory.

    Select the channel you want to archive.
    Select the channel you want to archive.
  2. Tap on the channel name to expand more details about the channel.

    Tap on the channel name to get more details.
    Tap on the channel name to get more details.
  3. Click on … Additional Options.

    View more channel options.
    View more channel options.
  4. Select Archive this channel.

    Select the option to archive the channel.
    Select the option to archive the channel.
  5. Click Archive to complete the action.

    Confirm you want to archive the channel.
    Confirm you want to archive the channel.

On Android

  1. Open the Slack app, launch your workspace and select the channel you want to archive.

    Pick the channel you want to archive.
    Pick the channel you want to archive.
  2. Tap on the channel name to expand more details about the channel.

    click on the channel name to open more settings.
    Click on the channel name to open more settings.
  3. Scroll down and, at “Advanced,” select Archive.

    Tap on archive.
    Tap on the archive.
  4. From the pop-up tap, Archive to complete the action.

    Confirm archiving the channel.
    Confirm archiving the channel.

How to unarchive a Slack channel

  1. Launch your workspace, then click on Browse Slack.

    Click on Browse Slack to view more channels.
    Click on Browse Slack to view more channels.
  2. Select Channel browser from the pop-up to view all the channels.

    Open the channel browser.
    Open the channel browser.
  3. Click on Filter in the far top right corner and choose Archived channel from the “Channel type” drop-down.

    Filter channels by the archived channels.
    Filter channels by the archived channels.
  4. Pick the channel you would like to delete from the list.

    Select the channel from the list.
    Select the channel from the list.
  5. Click on the channel name and hover over to Settings.

    Go to the channel settings.
    Go to the channel settings.
  6. Select Unarchive this channel.

    choose to unarchive the channel.
    Choose to unarchive the channel.
  7. Slack will confirm removing the channel from the archive.

    Slack confirmation.
    Slack confirmation.

How to delete an archived Slack channel

  1. Follow steps 1 to 5 in the “How to unarchive a Slack channel” section.
  2. Select Delete this channel.

    Choose to delete the channel.
    Choose to delete the channel.

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment