How to Delete Your Google Maps History

You might need to delete your Google Maps history for privacy or security reasons. Thankfully, Google allows you to do this easily. This guide shows you how to delete your history on the Google Maps app or a browser.

Delete your Google Maps history on iPhone or Android

  1. Launch the Google Maps app on your device

    Google Maps app on a phone
    Open the Google Maps app on your phone
  2. Tap on your profile picture in the top right corner of the screen. This will bring up a list of options.

    Initials or profile picture at the top right of the screen
    Tap on your profile picture
  3. Tap on Settings near the bottom of the options list.

    Settings among Google Maps option list
    Tap on Settings.
  4. Tap on Maps history.

    Map history among settings Options
    Select Maps history
  5. Tap on the Delete button at the center of the screen.

    Delete button at the center of the screen
    Tap on the Delete button.
  6. You will be shown various delete options. You can choose to delete for today, all time, or within a custom range. You can also turn on or off auto-delete. Select the option you prefer.
    Map history delete options
    Select a delete option.

    You will get a Deletion complete message once your Google Maps history has been deleted successfully.

    Deletion complete
    Deletion complete message

    Note: the auto-delete option deletes your map history after a period set by you. Using this option, you no longer have to manually delete your Google Maps history.

    uto-delete for Google Maps
    The auto-delete option.

    Auto-delete options
    Choose a time frame for when you want Google Map’s history deleted.

How to delete your Google Maps history on a computer

  1. Go to the Google Maps website.
  2. Click on the three horizontal bar menu icon by the top left of the screen.

    Three horizontal bar menu icon
    Click on the menu icon.
  3. Click on Maps activity at the bottom of the menu.

    Maps activity under the menu
    Click on Maps Activity.
  4. Click on the Delete button in the “Maps Activity” menu

    Delete button under maps activity
    Click on Delete.
  5. The delete button will bring up a menu with various delete options. Click on the best option for you.

    Various delete options
    Select a delete option
  6. A confirmation window will pop up. Click on Delete to confirm that you want to delete the selected map activity.
    Deletion confirmation
    Click on delete to confirm that you want to delete the selected Map history activities.

    After deletion, a notification will pop up telling you that the activities have been deleted.

    Deletion complete notification
    Notification confirming deletion of your Google Maps history

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment