If you’ve decided to switch to a different team communication tool or are just not using Slack anymore, you might want to delete your Slack account.
Whatever the reason, deleting your Slack account is a simple process. Note that in Slack, they use the word deactivate instead of delete, but it effectively deletes your account.
Things to keep in mind
- Deactivating accounts is only possible in the web or desktop versions of Slack.
- If you are a member of multiple workspaces, you’ll need to deactivate your account for each workspace separately.
- If you are the primary workspace owner, you’ll first need to transfer the ownership to someone else.
- Messages and files are not deleted after account deactivation; you can only delete them before deactivation if allowed by the primary owner of a workspace.
- Slack will remove you from all channels. You’ll no longer have access to private channels.
- Only admins and workspace owners can reactivate the account.
- If you want your profile data deleted, contact the workspace owner after deactivating your account. Workspace owners will have to contact Slack to get your profile details removed from the workspace database.
How to deactivate your account in Slack
- Go to Slack and launch your workspace.
- Click on your avatar in the top right corner.
- From the drop-down, click on Profile.
- Click on the more details icon (three vertical dots.)
- Select Account settings.
- In the new tab, under “settings,” scroll down to “Deactivate account,” then select Deactivate your account.
- Confirm you want to deactivate your account by clicking Yes, deactivate my account.
- Complete the action by checking the box next to “Yes, I want to deactivate my account,” then click Deactivate my account.
- Slack notifies you that your account has been deactivated.