How to Factory Reset Your iPhone

If you’re experiencing network issues or apps crashing, restoring factory settings might help fix these problems and improve the performance of your iPhone. A factory reset will also ensure that none of your sensitive information gets into the wrong hands for those who want to resell their iPhones.

On an iPhone, the factory reset option wipes all the information on your device, including the settings. For example, resetting your iPhone will remove pictures, contacts, apps, messages, and anything else you have added to the device since you bought it.

To get you on the right path, here is everything we know about how to factory reset an iPhone with iOS 15.3.1.

Prepare Your Device

For this article, we are going to be factory resetting an iPhone. But first, you need to ensure to check some items off your list before hitting the ‘reset’ button.

  1. Create a Backup: If you haven’t been backing up your personal information on iCloud, it is about time you start. Creating a backup on iPhone is simple. Go to Settings > iCloud > iCloud Backup and tap Back up now.

    A backup will save all the data on your iCloud account.

  2. Sign Out of Your Apple Account: To sign out, go to Settings > iCloud > Sign Out.
    Sign Out of Apple Account
    Sign Out of Apple Account

    You need to sign out of your Apple account to protect your personal information like passwords, bank details,  and photos. 

How to Soft Reset Your iPhone

A soft reset will restart your iPhone and not delete any data or content from your iPhone. It closes all the apps and turns your phone off and on. Soft resets work well to resolve issues like freezing, stalling, poor WiFi connection, or speaker issues.

For recent iPhone models like the iPhone 8, iPhone SE, iPhone X, iPhone Xs, iPhone 11, iPhone 12, or iPhone 13, follow these steps to soft reset your phone:

Soft Reset iPhone
(Source: support.apple.com)
  1. Press and release the volume up button
  2. Press and release the volume down button
  3. Hold down the side button until the Apple logo appears then you can release the button.

For older models like the iPhone 6s or iPhone SE, follow these steps instead:

Soft Reset older iPhone models
(Source: support.apple.com)
  1. Press down the Sleep/Wake and Home buttons simultaneously.
  2.  Release the Sleep/Wake and Home buttons when the logo appears.

After soft resetting, your phone will restart which can fix many common issues. If you still have to, you can try factory resetting your phone instead.

Steps to Factory Reset Your  iPhone

Once you complete a device backup, you can start the process of factory resetting your iPhone. A factory reset, also known as a hard reset, works by deleting all settings and data in your device. This includes contacts, personal information, browsing history, and installed apps.

With iOS devices, you have the option of deleting only the settings or also erasing all content and data from your iPhone.

Here are the steps to follow to factory reset your iPhone:

  1.  Go to Settings

    Go to Settings
    Go to Settings
  2. Scroll down and select General

    Select General
    Select General
  3.  Scroll down until you get to Transfer or Reset iPhone at the bottom of the screen

    Transfer or Reset iPhone
    Transfer or Reset iPhone
  4. Select either Reset or Erase all content and settings at the bottom of the screen.
    Reset or erase all content and settings
    Reset or erase all content and settings

    The ‘Reset’ option deletes all the settings on your iPhone, including things like home screen layout, WiFi passwords, and other settings. If you want your iPhone in the state you first bought it, you should select Erase All Content and Settings. This option will wipe all the data on your phone, including personal information, messages, contacts, apps, and emails.

  5.  After selecting Reset, tap Reset All Settings.

    Select Reset
    Select Reset
  6. If the issue is with your network, keyboard, or home screen, you can use one of the other options available.
    Reset other settings
    Reset other settings

    Note: You will have to enter your passcode before processing to erase all data from your iPhone.

    Wait for your iPhone to erase the data – this process can take anywhere from a few minutes to an hour.

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment