How to Leave a Conversation in Slack

Slack allows you to communicate with workspace users using channels or direct messaging. If you’re no longer working with a team, then leaving the conversation in Slack might be necessary.

Things to keep in mind

  1. Users cannot leave the #general channel.
  2. Guests invited to a single channel cannot leave the conversation.
  3. Guests invited to multiple channels can leave private channels but need workspace admin or owners to remove them from a public channel.

How to leave channel conversation in Slack

On computer

  1. Go to Slack and launch your workspace.

    Launch Slack workspace.
    Select the workspace you would like to use.
  2. Hover over to the conversation you want to leave.
  3. Go to the conversation header and click on the channel name.

    Select the channel and go to its menu
    Select the channel and go to the menu.
  4. Click Leave channel.

    Choose to leave the channel
    Choose to leave the channel.
  5. The conversation has been removed. You can only rejoin a public channel.

    The channel has been removed
    The channel has been removed.
  6. Alternatively, type the following slash command in the messaging field, then click on the paper plane icon to send the message.
    /remove @[your username]
    Slash command for leaving a channel conversation
    Slash command for leaving a channel conversation.

    You have successfully left the conversation using the slash command.

    Successfully left a conversation
    Successfully left a conversation.

On mobile

  1. Open the Slack application and select the conversation you want to leave.

    Choose the conversation you want to leave
    Choose the conversation you want to leave.
  2. Long press on the channel name until a new menu appears.
  3. Tap on Leave Channel.

    Long press on the channel name
    Long press on the channel name.
  4. Confirm the action by selecting Leave Channel or Leave.

    Confirm leaving the channel
    Confirm leaving the conversation.
  5. The conversation is successfully removed.

    Channel conversation removed
    Channel conversation removed.

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment