If you have finished or discontinued a project, it might be time to leave the Slack workspace.
There are two ways to leave a Slack workspace:
- Option 1: Contact the workspace owner to remove you from the workspace.
- Option 2: Leave the workspace by deactivating your account in that workspace.
This guide will show you how to do Option 2 – deactivate your account in the workspace
How to leave a Slack Workspace on Windows or Mac
- Open Slack and open the workspace you would like to exit. Then, click on your profile picture on the top right.
- Click Profile to go to your profile settings.
- Select More (the three-dot icon) and click on Account settings.
- Select Deactivate your account.
- Grant Slack access to deactivate your account by clicking Yes, deactivate my account.
- Check the box next to “Yes, I want to deactivate my account”. Then click Deactivate my account.
Your Slack account will now be deleted from the workspace – you have successfully left the workspace!
How to leave a Slack workspace on Android or iPhone
- Launch the Slack app and select the workspace you would like to exit.
- Tap the … icon next to the workspace name.
- Tap Sign Out to exit the workspace.
- Give Slack permission to remove you from the workspace by tapping Sign Out.
What happens when I leave a Slack workspace?
- Slack will delete all of your conversations.
- If any files are shared, Slack will not delete them.
- Leaving one workspace does not affect another workspace that is related to it.
- All the apps you installed in the Slack workspace will be disabled; however, the workspace owner can enable them.
- The workspace admin must invite you back to rejoin the workspace.
What should I do before leaving the workspace?
- Ensure you complete any critical deadlines.
- Back up any materials or information you might need after you leave.
- For the sake of professionalism, it is recommended you let your colleagues know you will be leaving the workspace.