Channels are a great way to organize your conversations in Slack. You can create channels for specific teams, projects, or topics. But what if a user is no longer needed in a channel? This post will show you how to remove someone from a Slack channel.
Things to keep in mind
- You cannot remove users from the #general channel.
- Only workspace admins, owners, and members can remove users from a Slack channel. If you are unable to do so, contact the workspace owner.
- Workspace members can remove other users from a private channel. In contrast, workspace owners and admins can remove members from a public channel.
- When someone is removed from a Slack channel, they will get a notification stating you are the one who has removed them.
Remove Someone from a Slack Channel on Computer
- Go to Slack, and launch your workspace by clicking on Launch Slack.
- Select the channel you want to remove users from. Go to the top right corner of the conversation section and click on the profile pictures.
- Find the person you want to remove from the channel. Click Remove next to their name.
- Click Remove to confirm removing the person from the channel.
Remove Someone from a Slack Channel on Android or iPhone
- Open Slack and select the channel from which you want to remove a member.
/remove @memberin the messaging section, then tap the send icon to send.
- The member has been removed. Note that you can only remove one member at a time.