How to Complete a Project in Asana

Asana does not offer the option of marking the project as done with a ‘Completed’ status. However, when you complete a project in Asana, you can archive it to hide it from your task board to avoid clutter.

According to Asana’s Community Progam Managers, their team is looking into introducing this feature soon but until then, archiving the project is the best way to mark it as complete.

Archive the Project

When you complete a project in Asana, you can archive it. This will make the project disappear from the left panel. You can also remove project members from the completed project before archiving it. However, this is optional. 

Here’s how to archive a project in Asana:

  1. Click on the three dots associated with the project in the left pane.

    Access the three dot menu
    Access the three-dot menu
  2. Select Archive Project from the context menu.

    Archive the completed project
    Archive the completed project
  3. To unarchive a project, click on Show archived projects in the left pane.

    View archived projects
    View archived projects
  4. Click on the three dots associated with the archived project and select Unarchive Project from the context menu.

    Unarchive the project
    Unarchive the project

If you are sure that you will not need the archived projects in the future, you can also delete the project. Follow steps 1-3 again and select Delete project from the context menu instead.

Note: deleting a project will remove all the saved data about the project from your account.

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment